The Four Treasures - Learning Adi Granth

These are needs of Soul to attain the supreme spiritual bliss i.e attainment of god....

Char Padarath or The Four Treasures are needs of Soul to attain the supreme spiritual bliss i.e attainment of god. Gurbani contains information about soul and gives description how soul could liberate. In Gurmat, Four Treasures are described which a Gurmukh can understand with his deep Insight. From Adi Granth, four types of Treasures or Padarath's are present for the soul.

ਚਾਰਿ ਪਦਾਰਥ ਜੇ ਕੋ ਮਾਗੈ ॥ ਸਾਧ ਜਨਾ ਕੀ ਸੇਵਾ ਲਾਗੈ ॥

One who prays for the four cardinal blessings 

ਜੇ ਕੋ ਆਪੁਨਾ ਦੂਖੁ ਮਿਟਾਵੈ ॥ ਹਰਿ ਹਰਿ ਨਾਮੁ ਰਿਦੈ ਸਦ ਗਾਵੈ ॥

should commit himself to the service of the Saints.


In Gurmat, Four Padaraths are different those are:

  1. Gyan Padarath: (Teasure of Spiritual Knowledge)
  2. Mukat Padarath: (Treasure of Salvation)
  3. Naam Padarath: (Treasure of Divine Wisdom)
  4. Janam Padarath: (Treasure of Spiritual Birth)

    But there are the Char Padarath(Four Treasures) that was defined prior which have no relation with Gurmat, those were defined by worldly people, who have no understanding of concept of soul. They have described four Treasures which are not inline with Adi Granth, those are:

    1. Dharam - Discipline. Understanding of his or her duties i.e virtues (Ethics)
    2. Arath - Assets.
    There is no relation between Religion and Money? This is not a Spiritual Treasure. It is a temporal thing that everyone leaves behind after spending each lifetime. There is no spiritual value attached to it. Money give birth to desires, and this is the thing which person left in this world.
    ਸੁਇਨਾ ਰੂਪਾ ਫੁਨਿ ਨਹੀ ਦਾਮ ॥

    Gold, silver and money are not yours.

    ਹੈਵਰ ਗੈਵਰ ਆਪਨ ਨਹੀ ਕਾਮ ॥

    Fine horses and magnificent elephants are of no use to you. ||3||


    3. Kaam - Desire. His or her all desired get fulfilled, including marriage and children
    This is one another padarath from earlier beliefs. This is a reflection of worldly/temporal mindset wherein things of material use are being asked for. Such a desire and mindset makes one oblivious of the soul and the real purpose we are here for.
    4. Moksh - Liberation.
    Mokh/Moksha has been thought to be freedom from life and death cycles. But the common belief takes the stand that it can only be achieved after death which makes it mysterious and vague. Gurmat view differs from it and treats Mokh/Mukti as something that can be realized while you are living.

    The supernatural powers & Worldly treasures have no importance in Sikhi & are simple slave to gift of naam. In fact they can actually hinder spiritual progress and create ego in the mind.

    See also Supernatural Powers

    Main article: Ashtdasa Sidh
    Main article: Nau Nidh


This article is from - The Encyclomedia of the Sikhs

Add a Comment