Bibi Jagir Kaur, actor Diljit Dosanjh among influential ‘Sikhs 100’ list

The Sikhs 100 is an annual ranking and documents profiles of some of the most influential members of the community from ...

Amritsar, January 13

SGPC president Bibi Jagir Kaur has made a debut in the latest edition of ‘The Sikhs 100’ list released by The Sikh Group – a UK-based global Sikh organisation.

Kaur was positioned second among the powerful 100 Sikhs on global level in 2020, next to Takht Hazur Sahib Jathedar Giani Kulwant Singh, who retained the top position.

Talking to The Tribune, founder of The Sikh Group Navdeep Singh said that ‘The Sikh 100’ was an annual ranking, documenting profiles of some of the most influential Sikhs from around the world and across all sectors, including business, education, profession, media, entertainment, sports and charity.

“Out of 26 million Sikhs, they were chosen in the current list.  Though, we do not honour them physically, yet our aim was to share the real stories of inspiration so that all generations of Sikh community should be encouraged to aim high, be passionate and excel in all aspects of their lives,” said Navdeep Singh.

Akal Takht officiating Jathedar Giani Harpreet Singh and Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh held their positions at third and fourth places, respectively, among the 100 Sikhs chosen for the list.

Diljit Dosanjh, the actor who recently hogged limelight for his unconditional support to the farmers’ agitation too qualified to be in the list for the first time.

Cricketer-turned-Politician Navjot Singh Sidhu and SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal may not lose a chance to hit out at each other on political front, but the two share a common platform when it comes to being ‘powerful’ Sikhs on global level. Both Sidhu and Sukhbir have retained their places in the list. While Sukhbir is placed 18th on the list, Sidhu’s name figures at the 30th place.

The list also comprises names of former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh, Union Minister Hardeep Puri, former Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal, DSGMC president Manjinder Singh Sirsa, Punjab Sports Minister Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi, former MP Tarlochan Singh, Pingalwara Society president Dr Inderjit Kaur, Padam Shree Baba Sewa Singh Khadoor Sahib and Baba Kashmir Singh Bhuriwale.

The list also includes the first Sikh and non Muslim Senator in the Afghan Parliament Anarkali Kaur, Canadian Minister Harjit Singh Sajjan, Pakistan Sikh Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee chief Satwant Singh, Dubai based social activist SPS Oberoi and USA based EcoSikh president Dr Rajwant Singh.

Add a Comment