Beard

Discussion of life's dilemmas, blessings and challenges. Got Questions? Need Answers? This is the place to be. Feel comfortable with asking any question. Anonymous posting is allowed. Questions are answered by anyone in the sangat who feels they can help.

Beard

Postby Guest » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:31 am

Hi,

I am a masters student living in London. I come from India.

I have kind of a dilemma.

In past 8-10 days, my skin beneath my beard has developed severe wounds(severe eczema or due to some skin infection) with pus flowing out.

This is troubling me a lot. I am unable to tie my beard or groom it. It hurts a lot like some one has put in needles in my skin. While eating I can always feel the external wound and pain/sensation.

It is spreading over different places beneath my beard, which is quite bushy with thick hair.

And one of the reasons for wound not getting healed up is that it never dries up because of thick bushy beard. pus flows and solids develop on my hair. Its awful.

Usually, I am a very practical person and with a straight head decide to to do what is required in order to solve issues and problems.

I am highly convinced to cut away my beard with a scissor so that my wounds get better. Hair will grow again, but wound has to be heal.

Only thing I am concerned about is my family and knowns. We have a family wedding taking place in London after 1 month and there will be huge gathering of relatives. Till now I have never cut my hair. But if I do it now, even for the right reason, they might think that I have changed so quickly after coming to UK where sikhs usually don't maintain full beard and hair. And I have been influenced, etc.

Its a frustrating mental block in mind. Please advise.

Thanks

Re: Beard

Postby Nihal Singh Kanakpuria » Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:26 pm

singhhr,

Instead of posting your dilemma here, i think you should be talking to elders in your family, if they dont believe you then you can show them pictures or doctors note etc etc.