Evolution?

Discussion of life's dilemmas, blessings and challenges. Got Questions? Need Answers? This is the place to be. Feel comfortable with asking any question. Anonymous posting is allowed. Questions are answered by anyone in the sangat who feels they can help.

Evolution?

Postby HarleenKaur » Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:40 pm

Waheguru ji ka Khalsa Waheguru ji ki Fateh.

I am a college student and am currently taking honors evolution? The professor asked us about our personal background and knowledge about the theory of evolution. So I stated what we in America have been taught from elementary to high school; the theory of natural selection, bottleneck poplulation, ect. But I remember a friend telling me,when she attended kakta, that Sikhism does not believe in the theory of evolution. Therefore, I wanted to know what does Guruji, Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji, say about evolution? In kirtan, the phrase "ek noor te sab jag upja" arises, but can someone please extend my knowlegde on this topic. Are there incidents that disprove this theory? Thank you and if I can said something wrong, please forgive me.
HarleenKaur
New User

Re: Evolution?

Postby Theodorus » Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:05 pm

I do not think that Sikhism opposes any 'real' science. But then you also need to remember that all science do is 'construct' realy clever and very usefull models of (parts of) reality. Science is not reality itself although it sometimes does give some insight in how things work (not in why things work).
In the case of Evolution theory; this is a scientific theory/model that seems to work very well (as there is no better for the moment). But it still is 'just' a theory (nothing more, nothing less).
Theodorus
Power User

Postby nanuckpunthee » Fri Aug 24, 2012 12:23 am

ਸਾਚੇ ਤੇ ਪਵਨਾ ਭਇਆ ਪਵਨੈ ਤੇ ਜਲੁ ਹੋਇਆ ॥ ਜਲ ਤੇ ਤ੍ਰਿਭਵਣੁ ਸਾਜਿਆ ਘਟਿ ਘਟਿ ਜੋਤਿ ਸਮੋਇ ॥