Kaur needing help with Turban Dilemma??

Discussion of life's dilemmas, blessings and challenges. Got Questions? Need Answers? This is the place to be. Feel comfortable with asking any question. Anonymous posting is allowed. Questions are answered by anyone in the sangat who feels they can help.

Kaur needing help with Turban Dilemma??

Postby Elina Elmira » Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:45 pm

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa, Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh.

(Sorry for the long post!! Please read all of it if you have the time.)

Hi, guys. I'm pretty new to Sikhi, and I would like some help with a problem I've had for several months now.

See, I would like to start covering my hair sometime in the future, specifically with a turban. The problem is, though, I have a condition that heightens my senses. The tiniest things can throw me into a full scale panic attack; even something as tiny as the seams in a sock or the tag on my pants can freak me out. Unfortunately, right above the nape of my neck and my ears are two of the most sensitive parts on my body. It's so bad, I can't even wear hats and I struggle beyond belief with wearing helmets. A turban would, very likely, overwhelm me in a few minutes and cause me to break down.

Due to this, I'd likely have to resort to a headscarf... But I don't want to somehow offend any hijabi women, as I'd be wearing short sleeves, have some of my hair showing, interacting with male friends physically, etc... To add on to that, I don't want to be immediately classified as a Muslim woman, since I would like my identity as a Sikh to be as clear as possible.

Finally, on my off days, I wouldn't even be able to wear a headscarf. That would mean I'd inconsistently be switching between a bare head and a covered head when I go to school. My fears about this? It'll seem disrespectful, people will just start thinking I'm wearing it for fashion, people will think I'm trying to get attention, and etc...