Advice Requested

Discussion of life's dilemmas, blessings and challenges. Got Questions? Need Answers? This is the place to be. Feel comfortable with asking any question. Anonymous posting is allowed. Questions are answered by anyone in the sangat who feels they can help.

Advice Requested

Postby Katearina » Sun Aug 28, 2016 10:16 pm

Hello Everyone,

I am pretty new in my Sikhi journey, and would like some input on my situation.

My entire family is Christian. My family came to Christianity when I was in middle school. My husband and his family are born-and-raised Christians. II fit in with my family, but I do not fit in with their faith. I have studied Christianity extensively and, while I have found truth there, I have also found a lot of what feel like non-truth for me. Speaking of truth, I literally have “seek truth” tattooed on my body. It is what I have always lived for, and, in my 32 years, I have slowly learned more and more about God and truth, the type of knowing that is deep in my being. I have always struggled to find a group of people or way of life that aligns with the truth that I know. When I began studying Sikhi and reading SGGS, I felt like I was coming home. I felt truth, and I continue to feel truth as I pray and study. This is obviously exciting for me. I am challenging myself to take my time and not over-commit. My husband knows where I am at in my journey, but no one else in my family does. I fear that I will be treated differently (in a negative way) if they learn my truth.