proof that Adi Granth was made Guru please

Discussion of life's dilemmas, blessings and challenges. Got Questions? Need Answers? This is the place to be. Feel comfortable with asking any question. Anonymous posting is allowed. Questions are answered by anyone in the sangat who feels they can help.

proof that Adi Granth was made Guru please

Postby fiveshabds » Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:06 am

Hi
I am a history student.

Can anyone provide proof that the Adi Granth was made Guru, and was made Guru for all future sikhs rather than just the current disciples or sikhs who were alive at the time of Guru Gobind Singh Ji.

How do we know that Guru Gobind Singh Ji meant that the Adi Granth will be the Guru or God for everyone when God was sending his Sons or Gurus to earth to carry on his mission. Why would God change his method of bringing souls back to Him? In the time of Guru Nanak, there was no Adi Granth and Guru Nanak was able to take his marked sheep back to the lord, so why was Gods method changed? God used his Sons in the time of Jesus, when he sent Saint John, Jesus Christ, and then Saint Paul and Saint Peter. In those time Jesus had apostles. The Buddha used the relationship of master and disciple to take souls back to the Lord. Where is the proof that the Adi Granth was made Guru for all future people born in the Sikh tradition, and not just for his remaining disciples who could have understood the message much better since they are likely to know what Guru Gobind Singh Ji meant since they had contact him whilst he was alive.

People say the rumour is that Guru Gobind Singh made the Adi Granth a Guru forever for the rest of the sikhs, but it may well be just a rumour. And how do we know the people who read this 100 years later did not misinterpret the message for example the message may have been meant for the living sikhs at the time who were already baptised by Guru Gobind Singh Ji.